Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic / tinyurl.com/upturnfbook

It’s not often that a producer as unique as Beautiful Lou comes around.  The first time I heard of him was in the production credits for one of ASAP Rocky’s more recent songs, “Trilla”.  The beat was good, but when I googled Beautiful Lou’s name, I found some even more incredible music.  I found out that he had produced for a couple of artists I have listened to a lot of, for example the above song with Mondre M.A.N. of Main Attrakionz, and his incredible, eclectic, and complex beat for Lil B’s song “Cocaine”.  Its hard to say who Beautiful Lou is most influenced by, so I’m going to overly simplify him by summing it up to weed and lean.  He most definitely stands on the shoulders of other syrup sipping Texas producers like DJ Screw, but Beautiful Lou brings a whole new element of originality and abstractism to the style that can only be the result of a couple of different drugs.  As of right now, Beautiful Lou remains relatively under the radar, but as long as he keeps making beats like these, he is headed for big things.

-TC

