Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic / tinyurl.com/upturnfbook

The Avalanches created something incredibly special with their 2000 effort Since I Left You.  The Australian group sent shockwaves through the music world with their genre-infusing album that worked as an oral collage of world music, dance and electronic.  It’s been a long 10 years of no new material from the band, however, signs seem to indicate that a follow-up could finally come to light as soon as next year… hopefully.

Yes, the band has announced a reissue of Since I Left You which I am incredibly psyched for but I’m tired of waiting for new Avalanches so I decided to look back.  Although Since I Left You is the bands only full-length, a few searches on the internet will lead to some of the more underplayed and early releases.  The band’s El Producto EP is almost a straight hip-hop release and the Rock City 7″ has an amazing synth driven b-side.  I highly recommend that everyone else do some googling and check out their older releases.  Stream/download one of my new favorites ‘Thank You Caroline’ below…

-PK

