Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic / tinyurl.com/upturnfbook

I first found out about Jay Curry’s music via Vince Staples’ twitter a few weeks ago and have been listening to his Vanity mixtape a lot since then.  Curry is a rapper-producer out of LA who has a rather unique style.  What really caught my interest about Vanity was that on “Just About” he raps over “You Hid” from Toro Y Moi’s debut album Causers of This.  I’ve always thought that some of Toro Y Moi’s songs would work perfectly as beats, so I was really happy to hear someone using one.  The rest of the mixtape goes on alternating between low key beats like on “Intromental” or “Rest Easy” and kitchy up-beat ones like “Smoke Signal” or “You People (Hates Me)”.  Vanity is a really good start for an up and coming artist and I am really excited to see what Curry has in store for the future.  Stream and download below…

-TC

