Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic / tinyurl.com/upturnfbook

Blu is an enigma.  He’s had an album, No York! on the way for a while now, and all of a sudden when its release date seems to be getting closer than ever, he drops je s u s ▲.  I don’t know if Blu decided to release this because of the supposed impending rapture, or if it had nothing to do with that at all, but I’m just glad to be listening.  This LP has some truly incredible beats from the likes of himself (godLEE Barnes), Madlib, and Alchemist that I wouldn’t be surprised at all to see on a normal album, and Blu chooses to use what sounds like a pretty cheap mic on every song.  The result is Blu’s vocals taking a more backseat role than usual which gives the tracks a really unique feel.  So far, this is only a digital release and you can stream it below from bandcamp.  I don’t know what is happening with No York! but this is definitely going to tide me over for a while.

-TC

