Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic / tinyurl.com/upturnfbook

Not everyone was able to get to watch last night when James Murphy took the stage for the final time with his prolific band LCD Soundsystem at Madison Square Garden.  Luckily, someone was smart enough to record the internet stream last night courtesy of Pitchfork.  While I wasn’t at the performance like Terence was, I did dedicate all my night last night to watching the near 4 hour epic performance and I can say that it was easily one of the most amazing things I have ever seen.

Terence and I have both talked about the similarities between last night and the Talking Head’s acclaimed Stop Making Sense and we both agree that LCD put on a performance that might have been even better.  James Murphy really went out with a bang last night and the entire performance can be streamed above.  LCD will be missed, but with this performance Murphy has guaranteed that LCD is a band that will never be forgotten.

-PK

Set List:

Set 1:
“Dance Yrself Clean”
“Drunk Girls”
“I Can Change
“Time to Get Away”
“Get Innocuous!”
“Daft Punk Is Playing At My House”
“Too Much Love”
“All My Friends”
“Tired”

Set 2:
45:33 Part One
45:33 Part Two (ft. Reggie Watts)
“Sound of Silver”
45:33 Part Four
45:33 Part Five (ft. Shit Robot)
45:33 Part Six
“Freak Out/Starry Eyes”

Set 3:
“Us V. Them”
“North American Scum” (ft. Régine Chassagne, Win Butler, and Will Butler of Arcade Fire)
“Bye Bye Bayou” (Alan Vega cover)
“You Wanted A Hit”
“Tribulations”
“Movement”
“Yeah”

Encore 1:
“Someone Great”
“Losing My Edge”
“Home”

Encore 2:
“All I Want”
“Jump Into The Fire” (Harry Nilsson cover)
“New York, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down”

