Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic / tinyurl.com/upturnfbook

Yesterday I was channel surfing and landed on an episode of That 70s Show.  During the commercial break the commercial above showed up and I couldn’t help but notice that the song featured in the commercial bears a striking resemblance to The Unicorns’ classi ‘I Was Born (A Unicorn)’.  Commercials have been called out before for ripping off indie-bands and I definitely think that this one could be added to the list.

Listening to the two songs it is pretty easy to hear how the guitar parts are pretty identical in both tempo and progression and even the drums are the same.  Other video comments agree with my suspicion so hopefully MSG Varsity will either take down the video or change the music.

-PK

