Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic / tinyurl.com/upturnfbook

At first, I hesitated to download Dom Kennedy’s most recent mixtape, but after listening to it I don’t know why I ever did.  I wouldn’t classify all rap coming out of the West Coast as “West Coast Rap”; Odd Future is from LA but makes music that by no means sounds like anything else coming out of California.  But Dom Kennedy is the definition of West Coast rap right now.  The Original Dom Kennedy is full of smooth, laid-back rap over fat, funky basslines that recalls Dr. Dre’s early 90’s G-Funk.  Critics probably won’t flock to this tape, but anyone looking for an easy, entertaining listen will.  Dom Kennedy has once again come through with exactly what everyone wants from him.  Stream one of my favorite tracks from the tape, “Goodbye”, which was produced by Chuck Inglish of The Cool Kids and download the tape below…

-TC

DOWNLOAD “THE ORIGINAL DOM KENNEDY”

