Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic / tinyurl.com/upturnfbook

Every once in a while it is only healthy to revert away from the complex, highly produced, electronic sounds of our day towards some classics.  Lately I’ve been listening to a little bit of mo-town and I thought I’d share it here.  One of my favorite mo-town songs is “Don’t Let Him Take Your Love From Me” by The Four Tops.  Its got up-beat drums, a perfectly integrated horn section, and of course amazing vocal talent, which seems to have taken a back seat over the years to other creative aspects of music.  Another favorite is Freddie Scott’s “Got What I Need”.  Of course, nowadays everyone recognizes “Got What I Need” for Biz Markie’s classic reworking of it in “Just A Friend”, but the original track is also great.  I don’t want to seem like a curmudgeon, but mo-town music has a simplicity that I hope will make a comeback in modern music.

-TC

THE FOUR TOPS – DON’T LET HIM TAKE YOUR LOVE FROM ME

FREDDIE SCOTT – GOT WHAT I NEED

