Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic / tinyurl.com/upturnfbook

I only started listening to Akron/Family in the past two months, but ever since I heard their self-titled album I’ve been hooked.  Akron/Family is full of unique, minimalistic folk tunes, and great songwriting.  The new album starts out with a track, “Silly Bears”, that completely ditches the acoustic guitar and soft drum patters for a heavy chant-like drum beat with loud distorted guitars.  Then, oddly enough it takes a sharp turn back to the folk crooning of Akron/Family with the second track, “Island”.  The rest of the album plays out with extreme variety and always great song-writing.  I would highly suggest you stream this album, I’m going to download it so I can put it on my iPod now.

-TC

STREAM FULL ALBUM HERE

