Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic / tinyurl.com/upturnfbook

I love surprises.  I especially love when surprises include a new Fleet Foxes track and release date for their newest album.  This follow-up has been a long time coming as 2008’s Fleet Foxes LP has remained one of my favorite albums and launched the Seattle Quintet into unanimous praise and hype. They have a lot to live up to with their sophomore album and since it has been a long time since their initial release I expect only the best from the band.  The first leak from the album is in the form of an anthemic Simon and Garfunkel inspired title-track Helplessness Blues.  It’s a lush, harmonized and pure acoustic jam that will surely satisfy all those fans who have been eager to hear more from the band.  The entire 12-track album will be dropping May 3rd on Sub Pop and while that means I still have way too long to wait I am happy that we will finally be getting some much needed Foxes in 2011.  Stream and download Helplessness Blues below.

-PK

