Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic /

Monthly Archives: March 2010


1.  Fashawn – Life’s A Bitch (Feat. Talib Kweli) (T)

2.  Das Racist – You Oughta Know (T)

3.  LCD Soundsystem – New York I Love You, But You’re Bringing Me Down (T)

4.  Tokyo Police Club – Breakneck Speed (P)

5.  Cut Copy – Feel the Love (P)

6.  Fang Island – Dream of Dreams (P)


Titus Andronicus are a post-punk band who’s recent sophomore album The Monitor scored great reviews among critics.  The Monitor is a concept album set during the civil war.  With this video for the standout track A More Perfect Union, the band plays with snow and leads a chorus of shouting hipsters.

Here’s a new track from DC rapper Marky off of his EP Journey to Markyland, USA: Stop 1 which is a prelude to his upcoming mixtape 43 Miles to Markyland, USA which will be released on April 5th.


Vodpod videos no longer available.

In this interview Casablancas talks about the state of The Strokes and whether or not his solo career is a sign of the Strokes splitting. Julian sounds optimistic about the band, who are currently touring, and are set to headline Lollapalooza. Casablancas also gives a shout out to my personal favorite The Dirty Projectors saying that he has “the most respect for them”. Brian Williams continues to impress me with his honest knowledge of the indie world and I look forward to seeing where the strokes are later this year.

I’ll be honest, I never thought that any live video this year would compare to the amazing yourstruly session of Excuses by The Morning Benders.  The studio version was a bit of a let down, although this is only because the live performance was stunning.  Somehow one guy on youtube has managed to recreate the feeling I got when I first heard the video.  Using only his voice, chairs for percussion, a trumpet and a ukulele the song is done amazing justice.  After this video I think Excuses is bound to be the live performance song of the year.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Dirt Dog’s dream lives on as this promo for the newly-released Wu-Massacre shows exactly how Wu-Tang is for the children.

It was only very recently that I got into LCD Soundsystem.  I am still listening to Sound of Silver but my first few listens have been great.  Now we can all look forward to their new album which has been titled This Is Happening, set to release 5/17.  Check out the full track listing after the jump.

Continue reading this article ›